How Long To Run Sustainable 3 Minute Ks?

• You cannot reply to this topic
423 replies to this topic

#1 victoralias

veryCoolRunner

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Sex:Male

Posted 13 June 2007 - 10:15 PM

I've hestitated to put this question out there but what the hey.

Despite my age -43 in July- I'm new to running. I've been using Lydiard style training principles since beginning to train in January this year and my progress has been quite good. In my first ever race (Puffing Billy 2006) I averaged 4 minute per k pace and this year, after two months of training, I had improved by 30 seconds per kilometer in the same race.

I've run a number of races this year and, each time, I am 30 secs per k off the pace at which I want to run. Thats the figure - 30 secs. I can run around 3.20 pace for shorter distances 4-8K instead of the desired 2.50. I can run around 3.30 for longer ones 10-20k instead of the desired 3. I can certainly run at these faster speeds so theres no problem there, I just can't keep it up for long enough.