Leg Feels Like It Is Going To Give Out

• You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 Heapsfun

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 28 June 2009 - 01:32 PM

Hi,

I am new to running. Have been cycling for about 12 months, longest distance 150km. About 5 months ago I started outdoor group personal training which incorporates a lot of running. And now I am following the training prgram for the City to Surf.

My question is, while I wouldn't call it pain, every so often I am getting this sensation in my left shin which makes my leg feel like it is going to give out and sometimes it almost does! It might last on and off for up to a week. I have experienced shin splints and I wouldn't really call it that - just  wondering if this has happened to anyone else and what is causing it...

Support our Australian advertisers:

#2 chacha33

• Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Sex:Female

Posted 28 September 2009 - 10:02 AM

View PostHeapsfun, on Jun 28 2009, 01:32 PM, said:

Hi,

I am new to running. Have been cycling for about 12 months, longest distance 150km. About 5 months ago I started outdoor group personal training which incorporates a lot of running. And now I am following the training prgram for the City to Surf.

My question is, while I wouldn't call it pain, every so often I am getting this sensation in my left shin which makes my leg feel like it is going to give out and sometimes it almost does! It might last on and off for up to a week. I have experienced shin splints and I wouldn't really call it that - just  wondering if this has happened to anyone else and what is causing it...

i used to get a similar feeling in my left leg and i bought some cheap orthotics (bout $40) and ive been running pain free for months now. Worth a try - some orthotics offer your money back if they dont help

#3 Jason M

veryCoolRunner

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 708 posts
  • Sex:Male

Posted 29 September 2009 - 08:32 AM