Jump to content


Garmin Connect Using Bing MapsBring back Google maps


  • You cannot reply to this topic
56 replies to this topic

#1 redbackrun

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,039 posts
  • Joined: 12-March 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 21 November 2010 - 09:39 AM

what's the go with Garmin. Google maps was much clearer, had terrain, easy Google Earth now i'm stuck with the poor quality Bing maps. It's a big step backwards. It doesn't make sense.

Support our Australian advertisers:

#2 kbryant

    CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Joined: 30-December 07
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Perth, WA

Posted 21 November 2010 - 10:17 AM

probably microsoft paying garmin to use it. Just like the tv shows where you hear people saying "...bing it..."

#3 blush

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 202 posts
  • Joined: 19-July 09
  • Sex:Female
  • Location:Brisbane Northside...

Posted 21 November 2010 - 11:17 AM

I agree... sucks big time...  boo for bing, bring back Google Maps!!

#4 todd75

    CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • Joined: 28-October 10

Posted 21 November 2010 - 12:01 PM

They, and the charts, don't display for me in Firefox. Anyone else have this problem?

#5 RobGrinter

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 485 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:579 Hampton St, Hampton, VIC

Posted 21 November 2010 - 02:45 PM

Plus 1,
Bring back Google maps.

The Bing maps do not allow as much control over zoom and view angle.

Not sure what they are thinking here ?

#6 Running fan

    CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Joined: 22-September 02

Posted 21 November 2010 - 09:26 PM

BOO HISS! Bing is a poor imitation of Google maps. Aerial maps appear greyed out and fuzzy, poorer resolution and less zoom. Road map view is not nearly as nice as the Google equivalent.
Any way to send our collective feedback to Garmin? For a company committed to innovation and technology this is a regressive step!

#7 Bellthorpe

    草分け

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,293 posts
  • Joined: 23-October 04
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Paris

Posted 21 November 2010 - 10:04 PM

Hmm. You could sent them an email? Write them a letter? Post in their forums?

#8 chrisso

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 940 posts
  • Joined: 27-February 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 22 November 2010 - 06:22 AM

Doesnt really make much difference to me (albiet I live in a city with reasonable photo coverage). There's not much to be gleened about your running performance by looking at aerial photos or a street map of the path you took. You still have the elevation profile which is viewable along with your path in the player.

If you wanted terrain information for planning a run I think you would be better off with http://www.mapmyrun.com/

#9 ATJ

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Joined: 01-May 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Glenbrook, NSW

Posted 22 November 2010 - 07:18 AM

View Posttodd75, on Nov 21 2010, 12:01 PM, said:

They, and the charts, don't display for me in Firefox. Anyone else have this problem?
They work for me.  I suspect you need to upgrade your version of Adobe Flash.

#10 miners

    don't take my word for it ...

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,985 posts
  • Joined: 07-October 03
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Port Macquarie

Posted 22 November 2010 - 03:02 PM

Bing is absolute crappola - from their maps, to their search engine to their on-line news and ordering services too.  Microsoft have had their time in the sun (15 years ago) and now need to "let it go" in trying to compete with Google.  Seems funny when every other techy experience I have lately is so rewarding, particularly with the google synchronisation of virtually everything I need.  

Must be some contractural issue, as it clearly doesn't sell the Garmin Connect service well.

#11 todd75

    CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • Joined: 28-October 10

Posted 22 November 2010 - 03:57 PM

View Posttodd75, on Nov 21 2010, 12:01 PM, said:

They, and the charts, don't display for me in Firefox. Anyone else have this problem?

I worked out that the only way to get them to load is to press Ctrl F5 once the page has loaded - if anyone has similar issues. Strange that it's only been a problem since they started using Bing

#12 maryclaire

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,420 posts
  • Joined: 22-April 08
  • Sex:Female
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 22 November 2010 - 04:16 PM

Not that I really care too much about the maps - but i did notice that today's run is not even very accurate.  It shows me starting my run on the eastern side of Nepean Hwy, running through houses on Tovan Akas Ave before crossing over to Dendy Park.  In fact, the start point was on the western side of the highway and at no time did I go anywhere near Tovan Akas Ave.  That is out by close to 100m.  I would guess the inaccuracies come from the info in the Garmin - but it didn't happen with the old mapping system.

http://connect.garmi...tivity/57503661

#13 redbackrun

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,039 posts
  • Joined: 12-March 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 22 November 2010 - 05:02 PM

View Postmaryclaire, on Nov 22 2010, 04:16 PM, said:

Not that I really care too much about the maps - but i did notice that today's run is not even very accurate. It shows me starting my run on the eastern side of Nepean Hwy, running through houses on Tovan Akas Ave before crossing over to Dendy Park. In fact, the start point was on the western side of the highway and at no time did I go anywhere near Tovan Akas Ave. That is out by close to 100m. I would guess the inaccuracies come from the info in the Garmin - but it didn't happen with the old mapping system.

http://connect.garmi...tivity/57503661

mine does it a lot of the time even with google maps.

#14 frankenstein

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts
  • Joined: 24-March 10
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Ruse NSW

Posted 22 November 2010 - 06:31 PM

View Posttodd75, on Nov 21 2010, 01:01 PM, said:

They, and the charts, don't display for me in Firefox. Anyone else have this problem?

Try clearing the Firefox cache.

#15 chilliman

    Hot eater, Cool Trail Runner.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,227 posts
  • Joined: 25-October 02
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:On a muddy Trail

Posted 22 November 2010 - 06:55 PM

Bing maps certainly are crap, apart from imaging being outdated, you cannot zoom in as far/less detail, no longer have a link to Google Earth, have the obtrusive Bing logo and are associated with Microsoft for a start. I will however say that the maps do load faster from my experience, but i'd rather the detail and the linking to GE.

ATJ has started a thread hereon the Garmin forums, weird that there is not much coming from the US on this one ? Suggest you all join in.

I demo Garmin Connect everyday in the shop, bit reluctant to now with the mapping change. :Shame On You:
May go back to alternatives.

#16 maryclaire

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,420 posts
  • Joined: 22-April 08
  • Sex:Female
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 22 November 2010 - 08:03 PM

View Postchilliman, on Nov 22 2010, 07:55 PM, said:

ATJ has started a thread hereon the Garmin forums, weird that there is not much coming from the US on this one ? Suggest you all join in.


It seems that is not the only thread on the topic:

Please List Alternatives to Using Bing Map

Bing Maps Is Not Acceptable

Change to Bing Maps Disappointing

and on Facebook:

Garmin Connect Users Who Want Google Maps Back

which has some picture comparisons of Bong vs Google maps in relation to detail; some are just plain ridiculous:

Pictures

From some reports it seems that remote places will not even have maps available - which will be a nuisance for many rural runners and travellers.  Part of the fun of running in a new country is admiring the map afterwards.

#17 chilliman

    Hot eater, Cool Trail Runner.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,227 posts
  • Joined: 25-October 02
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:On a muddy Trail

Posted 22 November 2010 - 08:31 PM

View Postmaryclaire, on Nov 22 2010, 09:03 PM, said:

From some reports it seems that remote places will not even have maps available -

Thanks for posting the links MC.

Almost comes close to the base maps in GTC. Checkout the YouYangs (50k out of Melb CBD), absolute tripe to be honest:

Mapping and Satellite Views:
Attached File  YY15_30k.jpg   50.32K   56 downloadsAttached File  Sat_view.jpg   36.63K   37 downloads

Flinders Peak at 360mtrs (the main feature of the YY's) where the red line heads out and back is completely non-existant.

Nothing even to zoom in on !
Imagine Trails plus handing out a map like that for the YY50/50. :Shame On You:

In comparison this is actually the junction above (Where the flag is, Turntable Car Park) zoomed right in on Google satellite imaging.
Attached File  TTJunc.jpg   128.91K   34 downloads


Another thread on the Garmin forums Garmin, your users deserve a response.

And on a positive note, maybe progress has started on the hacking front.

#18 chilliman

    Hot eater, Cool Trail Runner.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,227 posts
  • Joined: 25-October 02
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:On a muddy Trail

Posted 23 November 2010 - 09:41 PM

Another Garmin Forums thread here with 8000 plus views in only a couple of days.

As one poster pointed out, an additional "bing" mapping tab may have been an easier way of dropping the bombshell.

If the supposed 40 million new features :Shame On You: in Bing made it all the worthwhile, users would vote with their viewing patterns surely ?

#19 ATJ

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Joined: 01-May 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Glenbrook, NSW

Posted 24 November 2010 - 07:36 AM

View Postchilliman, on Nov 23 2010, 10:41 PM, said:

If the supposed 40 million new features in Bing made it all the worthwhile, users would vote with their viewing patterns surely ?
Where did you get 40 million new features?  I thought it was "40 million saved activities".

http://garmin.blogs....est-update.html

By the way, add your comments to that blog.  Not that they are doing anything with them, but at least they should be reviewing them.

#20 Gordo31

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Joined: 09-October 10
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:South Morang, Melbourne

Posted 24 November 2010 - 08:27 AM

View Posttodd75, on Nov 21 2010, 01:01 PM, said:

They, and the charts, don't display for me in Firefox. Anyone else have this problem?
They do in Chrome, but then I do need Firefox to upload from my watch. Grrrr.

View Postchrisso, on Nov 22 2010, 07:22 AM, said:

You still have the elevation profile which is viewable along with your path in the player.
Is the elevation from the watch (405CX) or the map? I just question its accuracy. I ran on a competition running track at Aberfeldie in Melbourne and it said the elevation difference was 5 metres!!!!! Surely that can't be right?

#21 Arn

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 333 posts
  • Joined: 05-December 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Canberra

Posted 24 November 2010 - 08:34 AM

View PostATJ, on Nov 24 2010, 08:36 AM, said:

...
By the way, add your comments to that blog.  Not that they are doing anything with them, but at least they should be reviewing them.

Well I posted, but funnily enough it continues to indicate that there are 0 comments :Shame On You:

#22 DontStop

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,432 posts
  • Joined: 03-June 08
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:St Kilda, Victoria

Posted 24 November 2010 - 09:42 AM

bing maps suck.

It surely must have something to do with money: either google wanted to make a buck out of Garmin, or Garmin wants to make a buck out of Microsoft.

#23 chilliman

    Hot eater, Cool Trail Runner.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,227 posts
  • Joined: 25-October 02
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:On a muddy Trail

Posted 24 November 2010 - 06:14 PM

View PostATJ, on Nov 24 2010, 08:36 AM, said:

Where did you get 40 million new features?  I thought it was "40 million saved activities".
I was being sarcastic, I have added a wink now to spell it out. :Shame On You:

#24 miners

    don't take my word for it ...

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,985 posts
  • Joined: 07-October 03
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Port Macquarie

Posted 25 November 2010 - 01:11 PM

in case you hadn't noticed, one of the canny FB users has now posted up a Chrome extension which works perfectly and converts you back to Google Maps :D

#25 ATJ

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Joined: 01-May 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Glenbrook, NSW

Posted 25 November 2010 - 02:24 PM

I have been looking at alternatives to Garmin Connect for publicly sharing my runs.  

I have found www.runningfree.com (which is either same as or sits on top of runSaturday.com) to be a pretty good alternative.  There's a plugin for SportTracks so you can export your activities directly to the site.  You can even set a private location (such as your home) and a radius and any runs that start or finish from that location won't include the map for anyone other than yourself.

I've uploaded the last 2 months of my data:

http://www.runningfr...UserName/atj777

#26 chilliman

    Hot eater, Cool Trail Runner.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,227 posts
  • Joined: 25-October 02
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:On a muddy Trail

Posted 25 November 2010 - 06:57 PM

View Postminers, on Nov 25 2010, 02:11 PM, said:

in case you hadn't noticed, one of the canny FB users has now posted up a Chrome extension which works perfectly and converts you back to Google Maps :D
Thanks Miners. :D

#27 Tail light Jnr

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Joined: 24-February 03
  • Sex:Female
  • Location:Bendigo

Posted 25 November 2010 - 08:10 PM

View Postminers, on Nov 25 2010, 02:11 PM, said:

in case you hadn't noticed, one of the canny FB users has now posted up a Chrome extension which works perfectly and converts you back to Google Maps :D

Thanks now I just have to try out Chrome, I use Safari normally.

I sent off a whinge to Garmin, not expecting a response but they did (probably a standard one to every complaint).  Fair enough too, the area I run in is now under 80% cloud with Bing :D


Thank you for contacting Garmin International.

We appreciate your thoughts regarding our transition to Bing maps within Garmin Connect.  Our goal during this transition is, and always will be, to provide the highest quality products to our customers.

There were many factors involved in this decision, and we believe this transition is a positive step forward and will enable great things to come within Garmin Connect.  We certainly hoped such a change would not create any hardships for our users.  However, we understand that some have been affected by the change to our map provider and we ask for your patience.  We are working diligently to exceed all users? expectations now and in the future.

Again, thank you for your feedback and rest assured your thoughts are taken seriously and deemed crucial in helping us deliver products our customers desire.
With Best Regards,

Robert G
Product Support Specialist
Outdoor/Fitness Team
Garmin International

well let's hope they are 'exceed all user expectations' soon

#28 redbackrun

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,039 posts
  • Joined: 12-March 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 17 December 2010 - 10:00 PM

another "bing" map problem is when i zoomed in & then change from street map to aerial view it actually display another part of the map i'm not zooming in on. So i have to click & drag to the area i want. never happened with google maps.

#29 Gordo31

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Joined: 09-October 10
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:South Morang, Melbourne

Posted 19 December 2010 - 07:46 AM

View Postminers, on Nov 25 2010, 02:11 PM, said:

in case you hadn't noticed, one of the canny FB users has now posted up a Chrome extension which works perfectly and converts you back to Google Maps :)
You are my new God... thank you very much!

View PostTail light Jnr, on Nov 25 2010, 09:10 PM, said:

Thanks now I just have to try out Chrome, I use Safari normally.
Once you go Chrome, you never go back.

#30 redbackrun

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,039 posts
  • Joined: 12-March 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 19 December 2010 - 10:23 PM

View Postminers, on Nov 25 2010, 01:11 PM, said:

in case you hadn't noticed, one of the canny FB users has now posted up a Chrome extension which works perfectly and converts you back to Google Maps :)


i just installed chrome & the extension & got google maps back BUT it won't display lap markers. I can disable the extension & it returns to bing maps with the lap markers. i'm sure there will be a fix in the future.

#31 redbackrun

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,039 posts
  • Joined: 12-March 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 14 January 2011 - 08:07 PM

new chrome extension update from GFIX chrome gfix - replace bing maps with google maps

#32 Gordo31

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Joined: 09-October 10
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:South Morang, Melbourne

Posted 15 January 2011 - 07:35 AM

View Postredbackrun, on Jan 14 2011, 09:07 PM, said:

new chrome extension update from GFIX chrome gfix - replace bing maps with google maps
Good. I hope this works better. Mine kept reverting back to Bing. Very annoying!!

#33 Action

    Run away, run away, run away....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,212 posts
  • Joined: 26-August 02
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Billywillinga, rural NSW

Posted 15 January 2011 - 09:33 AM

How long has Garmin not supported Chrome?  Got this when I was checking for updates:

"Sorry, the Communicator plugin is not supported by your browser."

So, what corporate shenanigans are going on between Google and Microsoft with Garmin as the current weapon of choice?

PS - the Chrome extension to replace Bing maps with Google maps works well.

#34 Gordo31

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Joined: 09-October 10
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:South Morang, Melbourne

Posted 15 January 2011 - 09:46 AM

View PostAction, on Jan 15 2011, 10:33 AM, said:

How long has Garmin not supported Chrome?  Got this when I was checking for updates:

"Sorry, the Communicator plugin is not supported by your browser."

So, what corporate shenanigans are going on between Google and Microsoft with Garmin as the current weapon of choice?

PS - the Chrome extension to replace Bing maps with Google maps works well.
This annoys me too. I use Chrome, but have to use Firefox for any manual uploads. Automatic uploads work through Chrome though.

#35 Whippet Man

    trailrunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,517 posts
  • Joined: 18-March 05
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Geelong

Posted 21 January 2011 - 11:13 PM

OMG I am trying to plan a course off my garmin connect plot on the bing map. There are no arial overlays of more detailed scale than 2km for the area despite it being a high tourist area less than 1/2 an hour from a major city. Even the "road" map has next to no detail or information. It is completely useless. What were they thinking?

#36 lyricnz

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 707 posts
  • Joined: 22-November 10
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Narre Warren South

Posted 22 January 2011 - 07:25 AM

View PostWhippet Man, on Jan 22 2011, 12:13 AM, said:

OMG I am trying to plan a course off my garmin connect plot on the bing map. There are no arial overlays of more detailed scale than 2km for the area despite it being a high tourist area less than 1/2 an hour from a major city. Even the "road" map has next to no detail or information. It is completely useless. What were they thinking?

There are plugins for firefox and google-chrome that switch the maps back to google maps. Try that, works for me.

As far as I understand, Garmin were forced to switch to Bing maps, because Microsoft have many patents in the gps/mapping, and were threatening their other work.  They are still going after other GPS/mapping providers.

#37 redbackrun

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,039 posts
  • Joined: 12-March 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 22 January 2011 - 08:18 AM

View PostWhippet Man, on Jan 21 2011, 11:13 PM, said:

OMG I am trying to plan a course off my garmin connect plot on the bing map. There are no arial overlays of more detailed scale than 2km for the area despite it being a high tourist area less than 1/2 an hour from a major city. Even the "road" map has next to no detail or information. It is completely useless. What were they thinking?

go to post #31 for the GFIX extension. works well.

#38 Whippet Man

    trailrunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,517 posts
  • Joined: 18-March 05
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Geelong

Posted 22 January 2011 - 10:14 AM

View Postredbackrun, on Jan 22 2011, 09:18 AM, said:

go to post #31 for the GFIX extension. works well.

Absolutely brilliant. Thank-you. :)

#39 Luckylegs

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,767 posts
  • Joined: 15-April 03
  • Sex:Female
  • Location:Southern Highlands. NSW.

Posted 22 January 2011 - 10:26 AM

For gfix to work, do you have to use Google Chrome as the default browser?  I don't like Google Chrome!  I love Firefox!  The maps on GC are still showing Bing even though I've got Google Chrome and downloaded gfix extension.  Any suggestions?  LL

Edited by Luckylegs, 22 January 2011 - 10:26 AM.


#40 redbackrun

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,039 posts
  • Joined: 12-March 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 22 January 2011 - 10:59 AM

View PostLuckylegs, on Jan 22 2011, 10:26 AM, said:

For gfix to work, do you have to use Google Chrome as the default browser?  I don't like Google Chrome!  I love Firefox!  The maps on GC are still showing Bing even though I've got Google Chrome and downloaded gfix extension.  Any suggestions?  LL

it has to be enabled. go to tools, extensions & enable gfix. bing map will still show up on dashboard but on the detailed run page it should show google maps. i like chrome but the rest of the family doesn't so they still use IE by desktop shortcut.

#41 Luckylegs

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,767 posts
  • Joined: 15-April 03
  • Sex:Female
  • Location:Southern Highlands. NSW.

Posted 22 January 2011 - 11:14 AM

Thanks RBR, but when I go to Tools>Extensions it's not there for me to enable it!  I don't think it downloads  even though I get a message saying: " Gfx is now installed. You can manage your installed extensions by going to extensions in the tools menu."  When I go to extensions there's no gfix to enable!  And I hate those bing maps!  LL

#42 Gordo31

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Joined: 09-October 10
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:South Morang, Melbourne

Posted 22 January 2011 - 03:25 PM

View Postredbackrun, on Jan 22 2011, 11:59 AM, said:

i like chrome but the rest of the family doesn't so they still use IE by desktop shortcut.
People actually still use IE????

#43 redbackrun

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,039 posts
  • Joined: 12-March 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 22 January 2011 - 07:38 PM

View PostLuckylegs, on Jan 22 2011, 11:14 AM, said:

Thanks RBR, but when I go to Tools>Extensions it's not there for me to enable it!  I don't think it downloads  even though I get a message saying: " Gfx is now installed. You can manage your installed extensions by going to extensions in the tools menu."  When I go to extensions there's no gfix to enable!  And I hate those bing maps!  LL

i've actually got 0.2.2 installed. looks like another update 0.3


New in version 0.3
- Show Google Maps™ on the dashboard
- Prevent Bing™ maps from starting
- Load faster
- Add a Facebook Gfix Like Box on the dashboard

New in version 0.2
- Laps display on/off
- Pop-Up Map
- Open-Close Map control
- Cleaner integration
- New icon
- Permissions optimization

i'll give 0.3 a go & see if it works for me.

View PostGordo31, on Jan 22 2011, 03:25 PM, said:

People actually still use IE????

apparently :)

#44 redbackrun

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,039 posts
  • Joined: 12-March 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 22 January 2011 - 07:47 PM

well using 0.3 gfix, when i log in to garmin connect the bing map is still on the dashboard. when i click on an activity, google maps display on the summary page. when i return to dashboard the small google map is then displayed.

#45 Whippet Man

    trailrunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,517 posts
  • Joined: 18-March 05
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Geelong

Posted 22 January 2011 - 10:37 PM

My map switches back to Bing when I try to run the player. Frustrating but having google maps back for general use is a big relief.

#46 Tony123

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,384 posts
  • Joined: 04-November 07
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Templestowe, Vic

Posted 07 February 2011 - 03:17 PM

Ive installed the gfix program, ver 0.3.  Google maps now show on the dashboard, but Bing maps show up on the player

#47 Luckylegs

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,767 posts
  • Joined: 15-April 03
  • Sex:Female
  • Location:Southern Highlands. NSW.

Posted 07 February 2011 - 04:16 PM

In order for gfix to work, do you have to use Google Chrome as your default browser?  I'd hoped it might work using Firefox....wrong?   Help, please!   LL

Edited by Luckylegs, 07 February 2011 - 05:11 PM.


#48 redbackrun

    1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,039 posts
  • Joined: 12-March 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted 07 February 2011 - 04:21 PM

View PostTony123, on 07 February 2011 - 03:17 PM, said:

Ive installed the gfix program, ver 0.3.  Google maps now show on the dashboard, but Bing maps show up on the player

he has mentioned he needs more time to fix the player map problem. a bit more complicated to do. i can't see garmin changing back to google anytime soon so this gfix will do me. he is working on version #4


quote
Gfix The 'Player' is in Flex witch is a too big hill for me to climb at the moment.November 30, 2010


Edited by redbackrun, 07 February 2011 - 04:24 PM.


#49 Michael S

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Joined: 29-September 06
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:Kingscliff NSW

Posted 08 February 2011 - 07:58 AM

I agree,
Google was great and the clarity of Bing is much poorer. You can still access your runs through Google Earth but its not as easy as before.
Bad move Garmin!

#50 RobGrinter

    veryCoolRunner

  • Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 485 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 09
  • Sex:Male
  • Location:579 Hampton St, Hampton, VIC

Posted 27 October 2011 - 07:43 AM

Garmin have bought back Google Maps to Garmin Connect.


If you prefer Bing, then they still have that option available.