#1 loves2run

veryCoolRunner

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Sex:Female

Posted 02 March 2011 - 10:25 AM

Hi,

As a fitness instructor I am always looking for books and tools to help me become a better motivator.  I'm on the prowl for any reading material that can help me find better ways of motivating people rather than spitting out monotonous words like, "come on, you can do it!"...

Any recommendations?  Doesn't have to directly relate to sport.  Maybe even general psychology theories will help me improve.
Cheers

L2R

Support our Australian advertisers:

#2 iRonnie

1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,288 posts
  • Sex:Male

Posted 07 March 2011 - 04:18 PM

http://catalogue.nla.../Record/1773254

http://www.wow4u.com...otes/index.html

Dr Waitley also has written  a book.  The Psychology of Winning.  More extensive list of DW's quotes below.

http://www.brainyquo...is_waitley.html

Psychology by David A Myers is an introductory text that Uni psych. students often use to understand the basics. .  

I like it when I hear inpsiring stories.  When you are chatting before or after a workout, you could tell a few yarns that are relevant to the person you are coaching.  Just  tell a yarn that helps them focus or feel more mentally energised and engaged in the session..  A non-didactic lesson :rolleyes: .   So keep an eye out in the papers, magazines or novels. Often your own history has many fun times and achievements that might assist others improve their fitness and attitude.  

I don't really know.  But, I think, establishing at the outset  clear goals and understanding what your charges expect from you is important. ( It is that individuality thing again.)  Then all you have to do is let them know they are on track to achieve what they want.

Edited by iRonnie, 07 March 2011 - 05:10 PM.

#3 DontStop

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,432 posts

Posted 07 March 2011 - 05:06 PM