#1 Quill

veryCoolRunner

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Sex:Male

Posted 05 January 2012 - 07:58 PM

Hey all

I've been doing physio for a month or so after a nasty bout of runner's knee - just the standard-issue squats, split squats, vastus medialis strengthening etc. It's all been going well and I've since progressed from 400m to 2km split by exercise-station stopoff halfway. Just taking it slow and it's a lot nicer to run after even basic strength training (I'm a noob). Heck, it's nice just to run.

Anyhoo, I've been looking to mix it up a bit for my quads as the squats are getting easier and was looking at wall sits. I've tried them and damn. That'll do it. But my question is this: a standard wall sit has the thigh parallel to the floor. This is all well and good, but I've read in many sources isometric holds induce hypertrophy, but only increase functional strength at the joint angle the muscle is trained at. "Essentially, training at only one joint angle does not increase strength throughout the full range of motion (1). In order to improve dynamic power, isometric exercises would have to be performed at multiple joint angles for the same muscle group. This becomes time consuming and enervating for an athlete who may already be spending considerable time on other training modalities."

So what is the functional benefit for us with doing wall sits with the knees bent so far? Would it not make more sense to perform the exercise at the midpoint of your knee's normal range of motion as you run? I tried it and while it's definitely easier, I reached a point reasonably quickly where I was genuinely struggling to hold the position.

Just a question - they definitely seem like they do the job and the point at this stage is still to strengthen and brace the knee, so I suppose they'll get that done regardless.

Thanks guys. :)

Edited by Quill, 05 January 2012 - 08:16 PM.

Support our Australian advertisers:

#2 B+

1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner