31 replies to this topic

#1 kurupt2020

CoolRunner

• Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Sex:Male

Posted 28 November 2012 - 03:50 PM

Hi guys im new to the running scene and have just started running about a week ago , I am currently running 5ks every morning my PB currently
is 27:30 , I do my 5 k run first thing in the morning , I wanted to get advice on doing a 2nd run in the evening possibly another 5 k run or even abit shorter
I find that i am keen for a 2nd run later in the evening . Is this healthy ? Should I just stick to the one run or running twice a day is not recommended ? Is it over excercising ?
And i know some will suggest why dont i just go for a longer run in the morning but due to time restraints eg getting back and getting ready for work i only have time to do a 5 k run , im up at 5am every morning so getting up earlier isnt an option . So opinions on running twice a day ?

Support our Australian advertisers:

#2 Duf

1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,514 posts
  • Sex:Female

Posted 28 November 2012 - 04:11 PM

Welcome to running...tis a wonderful journey to be on. I'm so very excited for you.

Part of that wonderful journey is slowly building up your training and allowing your body time to adapt to the new workload. It is way too easy to just keep building things up cause it feels so right but this often ends in injury and no running for extended periods of time.

You've gone from no running to ???7 days a week, 5km a day....that is a big ask for your body. As a minimum I wouldn't be adding a second run yet.

It is important to note that allowing some recovery time can be just as beneficial as a great training run. Really tune into your body and listen to what it is telling you. For me, each time I've started too enthusiastically it's ended in tears from injury and then running time-out. Enjoy the process of training and aim to be a long term runner.

Other things to consider: