Need help planning for my 2nd half marathon

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 Rezniv

• Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Sex:Male

Posted 31 May 2019 - 04:31 PM

I am a beginner at long distance running and endurance sports/activities. Entered the Melbourne half marathon (2015) with very minimal training and achieved the bottom 50 place (Age:20-39) in just under 3 hours.

I finished reading the book "Can't hurt me" by David Goggins and it motivated me so much I feel my mindset towards running has completely changed (And I hope it will last). I used to go into counting down the distance when I start running and just want it to be over, but these days I wish the runs can be longer and I feel guilty when I still have something left in the tank after the runs. I've been waking up 2 hours before my usual time and using it for my training. I signed up for the half marathon again and there is 5 months or so to go and I figured I better come up with a training plan to tackle it.

Here's what I plan to do so far:

* A week's training will include a long/easy run, a tempo run, an interval run, a cross training session and 2 rest days
* Aiming to do around 25-30km total distance a week
* The cross training day will be cycling
* I am not too concerned about HR zone training at this point because my pace is around 7 min/km for a 4k run and my HR gets into zone 3/4 after just a couple of minutes running. I may focus more on it once my HR is more stable.

I try not to overthink it as my fitness level is really low at the moment and getting the base up is my focus for the first couple of months.

What do you think about my plan? Much appreciated for any input on any other aspects of running as well.

Thanks a lot!

Support our Australian advertisers:

#2 Stej

1000-club gold-rated CoolRunner

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,005 posts

Posted 01 June 2019 - 10:58 AM