15 replies to this topic

#1 iwanttobefaster

CoolRunner

• Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 17 October 2004 - 07:20 AM

2 weeks ago i ran a 10k in 51:40.
I would really like to get under 45 minutes. Is it too much to ask?
Am currently running 30-35 miles per week hoping to increase to 40 soon (did do 40mpw early this year) and eventually by the end of the year hope to be doing 50 miles a week.
Long run consists of 90-110 minutes
Rest of week aerobic based runs, with one fast session each week ie. tempo, fartlek, etc.

Appreciate any advice Thank you  :)

Support our Australian advertisers:

#2 Grey beard

I beat Monas once...

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,700 posts
  • Sex:Male

Posted 17 October 2004 - 02:02 PM

Ah the elusive 45 min 10 km! I have been chasing it for 4 years and started with a time like yours. Unofficially (10 km split of a half marathon) I went under 46 mins two years ago, and 'officially' (claimed certified course) I went under 47 at the Run to the G this year. On age adjusted terms this year's effort was equivalent to 42 mins but the older I am when I get to the 45 mins the 'faster' I will need to be in age adjusted terms.
I would like to think it's all just a matter of training and racing iwanttobefaster. But of course there's also genetics. In the end it is that element of the unknown that makes it a challenge!

#3 RUN 422

veryCoolRunner

• Forum Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 349 posts

Posted 18 October 2004 - 04:21 AM

I finally got my time under 40.00 after I'd started doing 400s & 800s at the track flat out. This not only improved my speed but gave me the most important thing, confidence, knowing that I 'could' run faster.
  :D

#4 iwanttobefaster

CoolRunner

• Forum Member
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 18 October 2004 - 04:59 AM

Thanks Guys

RUN 422 that is an impressive time.
How many 400s and 800s did you do and what  sort of recovery did you do.

And what times were you doing beforehand