CoolRunning Australia - The independent Australian website for runners by runners
Help make CoolRunning better!

Main menu

Site Info



Aus 1 & 2 in CG Womens Marathon

Aus 1 & 2 in CG Womens Marathon

20 September 1998
KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 20 (Reuters) - Unheralded Thabiso Moqhali of Lesotho claimed his country's first Commonwealth Games gold medal ever on Sunday when he ignored the tropical heat of central Kuala Lumpur to run away with the men's marathon.

The women's race was won by front-running Heather Turland, a mother of four who at 38 is the oldest competitor ever named on an Australian athletics team.

Turland spent a month with her leg in plaster after being hit by a motorcycle in Rome in March on her way to the world cross-country championships. She kept the Commonwealth gold firmly in her sights by having a special cast made which allowed her to keep her fitness by constant swimming.

Moqhali made his move in the last quarter of the race against pre-race favourite South African Frank Pooe, who fell away in the final kilometre to finish fifth. Moqhali finished in two hours 19 minutes 15 seconds, 27 seconds ahead of Tanzania's Simon Bisiligitwa in 2:19:42. Another Tanzanian, Andea Sujo, claimed bronze in 2:19:50. 'It's the first medal ever for my country. It's very big,' said Moqhali, who works in a gold mine in the tiny southern African mountain kingdom.

Both the men's and women's races had depleted fields -- South African Olympic champion Jose Thugwane and other big-name marathon runners are in training for the more lucrative New York marathon in November.

Turland, who only took up competitive running four years ago, made the break seven kilometres from home and cruised comfortably to the line about 30 seconds ahead of compatriot Lisa Dick. Elizabeth Mongudhi of Namibia won the bronze medal.

Men's marathon 
  1. Thabiso Moqhali (Lesotho) 2:19:15 
  2. Simon Bisiligitwa (Tanzania) 2:19:42 
  3. Andea Geway Suja (Tanzania) 2:19:50 
  4. David Taylor (England) 2:20:30 
  5. Frank Pooe (South Africa) 2:21:12 
  6. Julius Kimutai (Kenya) 2:21:57 
  7. Patrick Carroll (Australia) 2:22:14 
  8. Thabiso Ralekhetla (Lesotho) 2:22:47 
  9. Mpakeletsa Sephali (Lesotho) 2:22:57 
 10. Keith Anderson (England) 2:23:07 
 11. Sean Quilty (Australia) 2:24:43 
 12. Elphus Ginindza (Swaziland) 2:24:53 
 13. John Mwatiwa (Malawi) 2:25:27 
 14. Benson Muriuki (Kenya) 2:26:22 
 15. Dale Rixon (Wales) 2:26:50 
 16. Mluleki Nobanda (South Africa) 2:28:47 
 17. Stephen Brace (Wales) 2:29:21 
 18. Phil Costley (New Zealand) 2:29:39 
 19. Joseph Tjitunga (Namibia) 2:30:30 
 20. Benedict Ballantyne (St Vincent and The Grenadines) 2:30:44 
 21. William Burns (England) 2:31:16 
 22. Hugh Marsden (Falkland Islands) 2:48:54 
Nicodemus Ongeri (Kenya) dnf
Hlonepha Mphulanyane (South Africa) dnf 
David Cavers (Scotland) dnf 
Francis Munthali (Malawi) did not start 

Women's marathon 
  1. Heather Turland (Australia) 2:41:24
  2. Lisa Dick (Australia) 2:41:48
  3. Elizabeth Mongudhi (Namibia) 2:43:28
  4. Gillian Horowitz (England) 2:46:58
  5. Lee-Ann McPhillips (New Zealand) 2:49:36
  6. Danielle Sanderson (England) 2:50:54
  7. Sarah Mahlangu (South Africa) 2:59:38
  8. Nthamane Malepa (Lesotho) 3:02:14
  9. Julie Cory (Swaziland) 3:28:45

This page last updated: Saturday 20 March 2010

Back to CoolRunning home page
Click here for CoolRunning Homepage

CoolRunning : The original and best aussie site for runners by runners